Ensuring affordable, long term, and environmentally sound disposal of MSW

Staff and Board

Board of Directors

The MRC is governed by nine directors elected at-large to three-year terms by the membership. The directors meet quarterly, typically on the last Wednesday of the first month of the quarter, to conduct business that includes review of facility operations and performance; decisions on management and disposition of the MRC’s financial assets and reserve funds; discussion of waste delivery trends and waste control measures; and other relevant planning tasks and policies.

Chip Reeves, Board President

Jim Guerra, Board Vice Chair

Sophia Wilson, Board Treasurer

Tony Smith, Public Works Director, Town of Mount Desert

Catherine Conlow, City Manager, City of Bangor

Karen Fussell, Finance Director, City of Brewer

Sue Lessard, Town Manager, Town of Bucksport

Kevin Howell, Town Manager, Town of Carmel

Ralph Saucier, Public Works Director, Town of Millinocket


Eric Johns, Interim Executive Director